The advisory is prepared by the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel it addresses the procedure for the preparation of legislation and the setting of the Legislation Programme.

The entire procedure involves seven main stages:

  1. Approval of Annual Legislation Programme
  2. Approval of Policy by Cabinet.
  3. Issue of drafting instructions.
  4. Preparation and Circulation of Bills.
  5. Approval of Bills by the Legislation Committee.
  6. Approval of Bills by the Cabinet.
  7. Introduction of Bills to Parliament.

Preparation and Presentation of Legislation (PDF)